Information about South America

South America is a continent that is entirely located in the Southern Hemisphere, bounded on the east by the Atlantic Ocean and on the west by the Pacific Ocean, the largest ocean on Earth. North America is located north of South America, both continents are separated by the DariƩn Gap on the border of Colombia and Panama. The Panama Canal is also considered to be the border between North and South America. South of South America is the continent of Antarctica, the distance from the Chilean Cape Horn, the southernmost point of South America, to the Antarctic Peninsula is only about 800 km. The shortest distance between South America and the western part of the continent of Africa is about 2600 km.

From Venezuela in the north to Tierra del Fuego in the south, South America is about 7200 km long, and from the Ecuadorian port city of Guayaquil in the west to Recife in Brazil in the east, the continent is about 5000 km wide. The total area of the continent of South America is approximately 17,840,000 km2, making it the fourth largest continent in size after Asia (43,820,000 km2), Africa (30,370,000 km2) and North America (24,490,000 km2).

Below are the links to all the destinations so far included in South America:

South America
Rio de JaneiroPERUCaracas
Click the menu button at the top left of the screen for more information