Geography and Landscape


Samoa Satellite PhotoSamoa Satellite PhotoPhoto: Public Domain

The islands of Samoa comprise independent Western Samoa and American Samoa. Western Samoa has best preserved its own identity and traditions. Certainly in comparison with the other countries in the Atlantic Ocean, which are all subject to various influences. There are volcanoes on the island and some parts are buried under hardened lava.

Samoa is located on the east side of the Datum Line and south of the equator, about halfway between Hawaii and New Zealand, in the Polynesian region of the Pacific Ocean. The total land area is 2934 km² and consists of the two islands of Upolu and Savai'i, which comprise 99% of Samoa's land area, and eight smaller islets: the three islands in the Strait of Apolima (Manono Island, Apolima and Nu'ulopa), the four Aleipata islands a little to the east of Upolu (Nu'utele, Nu'ulua, Namua and Fanuatapu), and the islet of Nu'usafe'e (smaller than 0.01 km² in area and about 1.4 km off the southern coast of Upolu)

The nearest surrounding islands are Tokelau in the north, French Polynesia in the east, Niue in the south and Fiji in the west. Further to the northwest is the island of Papua New Guinea, to the southwest Australia and further to the northeast is Mexico. Savai'i has an area of 1700 km2 and Upolu 1115 km2. The highest point in Samoa is on Savai'i and is called Mount Silisili with an altitude of 1858 m.

The area of American Samoa is 197 km2. Tutuila is a long, narrow island with many valleys. The Samoa Islands have a volcanic origin. On Tutuila, most of the volcanoes are worked out, in contrast to the volcanoes on Savai'i and Upolu. The most specific thing about the Samoa Islands is their volcanic origin.

Pola Iskands voor de kust van TutuilaPola Iskands off the coast of TutuilaPhoto: Tavita Togia National Park Service in het publieke domein


Elmar Landeninformatie


CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated April 2022
Copyright: Team Landenweb