Cities in NORWAY



State structure

The Norwegian constitution dates from 1814 along the lines of that of the United States. In 1884, the parliamentary system was introduced, whereby the government is accountable to the representatives of the people. In 1898 universal male suffrage was introduced, in 1913 as the second country in Europe after Finland, also female suffrage. A referendum can be held on important issues. In 1994 the majority of Norwegians voted against membership of the European Community. The Kingdom of Norway has existed since 1905 and is a constitutional monarchy with an elected parliament (Storting). Legislative power rests with the 165-member Storting, elected by universal suffrage under a district system for four years.

Parliament building Norway
photo: Stortinget,_Oslo,_Norway.jpg: gcardinal from Norway, CC Attribution 2.0 Generic no changes made

Norway has a mixture of one- and two-chamber system: there is only one chamber, but it divides itself into a Lagting (3 of the members) and an Odelsting (H). Usually the Storting meets in full, but bills are discussed first in Odelsting and then in Lagting. Executive power is formally vested in the king, but the state councilor determines the content of the royal decrees, which must be co-signed by the prime minister. The king appoints the members of the privy council (government), who is answerable to parliament. For the current political situation, see chapter history.

Vergaderzaal Storting, Noorwegen
photo: Smuconlaw., CC Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported no changes made

Administrative division

The country is divided into nineteen provinces (fylker), headed by a governor (fylkesmann). The smallest administrative units are the 439 municipalities. Svålbard (Spitsbergen) has a special status and is administered by a governor (sysselmann), who falls directly under the government in Oslo. Oslo is an independent province. The island of Jan Mayen in the Arctic Ocean also belongs to Norway.

Regions Norway
afbeelding: Antonio Ciccolella, CC Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported no changes made


Children attend a nine-year, usually public elementary school from kindergarten age. From the fourth grade, the children learn the English language. In the eighth grade they can still choose a foreign language. Secondary school lasts three years.

Primary school in Stord on the island of the same name off the southeast coast of Norway
photo: Wolfmann, CC Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International no changes made

After secondary school, one can study at various universities and colleges. The oldest university is Oslo, which dates back to 1813.

Main building Oslo University
photo: Riaz, Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported no changes made

The University of Tromso was founded in 1969 especially for the residents of Northern Norway.

Campus Universitetet i Tromsø
photo: Maja Sojtaric, CC Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported no changes made

Click the menu button at the top left of the screen for more information


Dominicus, J. / Noorwegen

Hoogendoorn, H. / Noorwegen

Meesters, G. / Zuid-Noorwegen
ANWB media

Schagen, K. / Noorwegen

CIA - World Factbook

BBC - Country Profiles

Last updated September 2021
Copyright: Team Landenweb