Information about Middle America

Middle America or Central America is a geographic region that connects the continent of North America with the continent of South America. Generally, Central America is used only to connect the Central American land bridge which is the connection from North America to South America to indicate by country, the whole area is generally called Middle America.

Middle America is bordered on the north by Mexico, on the east by the Caribbean Sea, on the west by the Pacific Ocean, and on the southeast by Colombia. Middle America has an area of approximately 524,000 km2. The headland that forms Middle America is nowhere wider than 500 km. The countries of Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala and Belize are part of Middle America.

In the context of Landenweb, the islands and countries in the Caribbean are also included in Middle America and Mexico belongs to North America. The Caribbean is a region consisting of the Caribbean Sea and the approx. 7000 islands, islets, reefs and sandbanks that lie in the area. The Caribbean is located southeast of the Gulf of Mexico and North America, east of Central America, and north of South America, and consists of both independent countries and territories that depend on and belong to the territory of another country.

The total land area of the Caribbean is approximately 239,600 km2, the islands are spread over an area of approximately 2,754,000 km2. The Tajumulco volcano in Guatemala is the highest point in Middle America at 4,220 meters.

Below are the links to all the destinations so far included in Middle America:

Middle America
OranjestadCOSTA RICAWillemstad
BELIZEJan Thiel Baai
Click the menu button at the top left of the screen for more information