Cities in FLORIDA

Popular destinations USA


Florida Supreme CourtPhoto:Bruin79 Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported  no changes made

Just like at the federal level and in all other American states, Florida also has legislative, executive, and judicial powers.

The Governor of Florida is elected by Florida citizens for a term of four years, with the option of rerouting for an additional four years. Like the governor, the bicameral parliament also sits in the capital Tallahassee. The House of Representatives has 140 members and the Senate has 40 members. Judges, sheriffs, electoral commissioners, and other dignitaries are also elected by the citizens of Florida through direct elections.

In the presidential elections Florida belongs to the so-called 'swing states', which are characterized by the often very small differences in the final result. For example, in 2016 Donald Trump won only with 100,000 out of Hillary Clinton's nine million votes.

Rick Scott, current Florida GovernorPhoto:State of Florida,in the public domain

Florida is divided into 67 counties. The current governor is Republican Rick (Richard) Scott, elected in 2011. Florida has exclusion from the right to vote for life in a criminal conviction. This law was enacted in 1868, shortly after the abolition of slavery, to keep as many blacks as possible out of the polling place. In practice, this law means that one third of the black population of the state has no right to vote. This rule applies in six more US states.

The Old Capitol, a building in the capital Tallahassee, now houses a museum. The 22-story New Capitol houses the office of the governor, parliament, and senate.


Florida Governors Overview


name term party
Andrew Jackson 1821 Democratic-Republican
name term party
William Pope Duval 1822-1834 Democratic-Republican
John Eaton 1834-1836 Democrat
Richard Call 1836-1839 Democrat
Robert Reid 1839-1841 Democrat
Richard Call 1841-1844 Democrat
John Branch 1844-1845 Democrat
name term party
William Dunn Mosely 1845-1849 Democrat
Thomas Brown 1849-1853 Whig
James Broome 1853-1857 Democrat
Madison Perry 1857-1861 Democrat
John Milton 1861-1865 Democrat
Abraham Allison 1865 Democrat
William Marvin 1865 Independent
David Shelby Walker 1865-1868 Democrat
Harrison Reed 1868-1873 Republican
Ossian Hart 1873-1874 Republican
Marcellus Stearns 1874-1877 Republican
George Franklin Drew 1877-1881 Democrat
William Bloxham 1881-1885 Democrat
Edward Perry 1885-1889 Democrat
Francis Fleming 1889-1893 Democrat
Henry Mitchell 1893-1897 Democrat
William Bloxham 1897-1901 Democrat
William Sherman Jennings 1901-1905 Democrat
Napoleon Broward 1905-1909 Democrat
Albert Gilchrist 1909-1913 Democrat
Park Trammell 1913-1917 Democrat
Sidney Johnston Catts 1917-1921 Prohibition Party
Cary Hardee 1921-1925 Democrat
John Wellborn Martin 1925-1929 Democrat
Doyle Carlton 1929-1933 Democrat
David Sholtz 1933-1937 Democrat
Fred Cone 1937-1941 Democrat
Spessard Holland 1941-1945 Democrat
Millard Caldwell 1945-1949 Democrat
Fuller Warren 1949-1953 Democrat
Daniel McCarty 1953 Democrat
Charley Eugene Johns 1953-1955 Democrat
LeRoy Collins 1955-1961 Democrat
Farris Bryant 1961-1965 Democrat
Haydon Burns 1965-1971 Democrat
Claude Kirk 1971-1973 Republican
Reubin Askew 1973-1979 Democrat
Bob Graham 1979-1987 Democrat
Wayne Mixson 1987 Democrat
Bob Martinez 1987-1991 Republican
Lawton Chiles 1991-1998 Democrat
Buddy MacKay 1998-1999 Democrat
Jeb Bush 1999-2007 Republican
Charlie Crist 2007-2011 Republican
Rick Scott 2011- Republican


Bailey, Ruth / Florida
Van Reemst, Uitgeverij Unieboek, Het Spectrum BV

BBC - Country Profiles

CIA - World Factbook

Elmar Landeninformatie

Hull, Sarah / The rough guide to Florida
Rough Guides

Karlin, Adam / Discover Florida
Lonely Planet

Karlin, Adam / Florida
Lonely Planet

McKechnie, Gary / Florida : de reisgids voor een actieve & culturele vakantie
Kosmos Uitgevers

Pinck, Axel / Florida

Sanders, Bert / Florida : reizen met insider tips
Van Reemst

Skolnick, Adam / Florida & the South's best trips : 28 amazing road trips
Lonely Planet


Last updated November 2020
Copyright: Team Landenweb